You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of BayernForum.com

Van Buyten: I love this football club

News that's automatically retrieved from the official FC Bayern Munich website.

Van Buyten: I love this football club

Postby FCBayernNews » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:00 pm

Daniel van Buyten, nicknamed The Rock for his 6 ft 5 inch frame and ultra-solid defensive displays, arrived at Bayern last summer, immediately establishing himself as one of the club's most consistent performers. The Belgian was the only ever-present in all 26 matches so far this term.

The 28-year-old found time between training sessions to sit down and talk with <b>fcbayern.de</b>, looking back on his first six months in Munich, and revealing a long-term love affair.

<b>Interview: Daniel van Buyten</b>

<b>fcbayern.de:</b> Daniel, how are you enjoying Dubai?

<b><i>Van Buyten:</i></b> "It's my first time here, I'm feeling good and it's a fine country. But we're here for a training camp. We have a wonderful hotel, good pitches and great weather. What really matters is that we leave here knowing we've worked hard."

<b>fcbayern.de:</b> Your father was a professional sportsman, so do you find fitness training easier than the others?

<b><i>Van Buyten:</i></b> "I don't mind training hard. I know you only build up strength for matches with this kind of training routine. It's better to suffer now than when we go back to playing. You enjoy games more if you've done a decent winter training programme."

<b>fcbayern.de:</b> Are you training more eagerly because you know Real Madrid lie in wait?

<b><i>Van Buyten:</i></b> "We're all aware of that, but at the moment we're only thinking about the winter programme. This is where we have to get fit for the big games like Real, so that's where you have to be mentally, and not already thinking about Real."

<b>fcbayern.de:</b> How would you assess your first six months in Munich?