You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of BayernForum.com

'Tall Guy' Maierhofer revels in stellar ascent

News that's automatically retrieved from the official FC Bayern Munich website.

'Tall Guy' Maierhofer revels in stellar ascent

Postby FCBayernNews » Mon Oct 30, 2006 9:15 pm

They call him "basketballer" or "Tall Guy". He was discovered playing in a league "where they can probably just about lace their boots without falling over," according to acerbic reserve boss Hermann Gerland. His lanky 6 ft 7 inch frame makes him an almost comical, disjointed figure at times. He is a chef by trade. And yet Stefan Maierhofer will start Bayern's Champions League clash with Sporting Lisbon on Tuesday evening as one of the home substitutes.

The 24-year-old Austrian received a rapturous reception from the die-hards watching the Munich reserves take on their VfB Stuttgart counterparts at the Grünwald stadium on Sunday, but just 24 hours earlier, the unfamiliar name was doing the rounds of a 69,000 full house at the Allianz Arena. The beanpole of a man came on for his Bundesliga debut two minutes from the end of the home side's 2-0 victory over Eintracht Frankfurt.

<b>Overwhelming experience</b>

"It was even a shade better than I'd imagined," the player told <b>fcbayern.de</b> afterwards. "You're down there, and they're singing your name from the South terrace - it's almost too much. It's just incredible that I got the two minutes, just getting on the pitch was fantastic."

With Lukas Podolski set for a lengthy lay-off, Maierhofer could be in for plenty more of the same. Coach Felix Magath has called him and reserve team-mate Christian Saba into the senior squad for the Lisbon showdown. "It's important for the team to see the occasional player among their ranks who no-one's really noticed before," the head coach remarked.

<b>Rapid rise</b>