You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of

FCB about to seal next title on the road

News that's automatically retrieved from the official FC Bayern Munich website.

FCB about to seal next title on the road

Postby FCBayernNews » Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:30 pm

FC Bayern are likely to claim their next German championship title on the road. A victory in Saturday's match away to FC Augsburg would mean the German record champions seal a sixth consecutive championship title with five matchdays to go.

A championship decider on the road would be anything but a first for the men from Munich, who have claimed ten of their last 11 Bundesliga titles on foreign soil. The only exception was the 1-0 home victory over Hertha Berlin in the 2014/15 season. Bayern claimed the title "on the sofa" when VfL Wolfsburg lost away to Gladbach the next day.

Last championship title in Munich 18 years ago

The last time Munich claimed the title in front of their own fans dates back to the 1999/2000 season, when they hoisted the shield on Matchday 34 after a 3-1 victory over Werder Bremen, benefiting from Bayer Leverkusen's defeat away to Unterhaching. The Bavarians have not claimed a Bundesliga title at home since then, and they have yet to seal the title at the Allianz Arena, which was inaugurated in 2005.

After the legendary last-minute decider away to Hamburger SV in 2001, Bayern have clinched the title three times in Wolfsburg (2003, 2008, 2017) and two times in Kaiserslautern (2005, 2006) and in Berlin (2010, 2014). In the 2012/13 treble season they wrapped up the title in Frankfurt, two years ago Bayern celebrated in Ingolstadt on Matchday 33.

If FC Bayern win Saturday's match Augsburg will be the venue of the next decider. has compiled a list of all championship deciders in favour of FCB since 2000.

Bayern's championship deciders since 2000

 Season Matchday Opponents/result
2000/01 34 Hamburger SV (1-1)
2002/03 30 VfL Wolfsburg (2-0)
2004/05 31 1. FC Kaiserslautern (4-0)
2005/06 33 1. FC Kaiserslautern (1-1)
2007/08 31 VfL Wolfsburg (0-0)
2009/10 34 Hertha BSC (3-1)
2012/13 28 Eintracht Frankfurt (1-0)
2013/14 27 Hertha BSC (3-1)
2014/15 30 'On the sofa'
2015/16 33 FC Ingolstadt (2-1)
2016/17 31 VfL Wolfsurg (6-0)
User avatar
News fetcher
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
Posts: 8115
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 149 times

Return to Official FC Bayern News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo! [Bot], Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests