You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of BayernForum.com

European Football

Discussions on football in other leagues around Europe.

Re: European Football

Postby aterford » Mon Apr 19, 2021 11:00 pm

PunkCapitalist wrote:
FCBayernMunchen wrote:How do you figure? I'd imagine it's perfectly within their rights to decide who gets to play in their competitions (much like the ESL is doing after all). In fact, perhaps the fact that a rival big association is going to pop up weakens that argument because as long as (almost) all football comes under the FIFA banner that might make sense, but once you've got a diverse market, not so much.
I'm not a lawyer, but: a good analogy is web browsers. What FIFA wants to do with the World Cup would be equivalent to Microsoft restricting all windows OS from installing Google Chrome. We know for a fact that that would be illegal.

Suspect it would perhaps be more akin to how the only 'officially supported' channel for installing apps on your iPhone is through Apple's App Store, or something like that (which has held up in court).

Of course the fundamental difference here is that you've purchased the device and it's your property. Ownership more or less conveys the right to do with that product as you please. You are able to install Chrome on your Windows PC because you own the PC. The players and/or the Super League do not 'own' the World Cup (or similar competitions) and as best I can figure don't carry any sort of inherent right to compete in it. FIFA more or less "owns" the World Cup in this scenario - if anything, it's backwards - it's more like FIFA is Microsoft and Google is the ESL and they're trying to force Microsoft to include a Chrome install as part of their OS. :wink: :lol:
God Bless Thomas Müller
aterford
I live on BayernForum.com

Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership